The Seminary

PRD_7968The Kerala United Theological Seminary (KUTS), established in 1943, is a premier theological and ministerial education centre of the Churches in Kerala State, India. It was established through a joint effort of the missionary societies i.e. the London Missionary Society, the Church Missionary Society, and the Basel Mission–and Churches–The Church of God in South India and the Malankara Marthoma Syrian Church. At present, the seminary is run by the four dioceses of the Church of South India (CSI) Kerala State, with an ecumenical outlook. The Seminary is affiliated to the Senate of Serampore College/University, West Bengal, India.

KUT SeminaryThe Seminary began with offering a Licentiate in Theology (L. Th.) course. Later in 1975, it was upgraded to offer the Bachelor of Divinity course. Currently, the Seminary offers a variety of courses in various levels. Through its teaching, scholarship, and community services, the Seminary seeks to nurture the formation of Christian identity, spiritual disciplines, and faith-based moral responsibility, in keeping with awareness of the rich heritage, the resources and challenges, and religiously diverse context of the Christian ministry.